Exemplary pupils are awarded coveted school honour

Exemplary pupils are awarded coveted school honour

22nd June 2015


A WORLD class fighter and a student described as ‘the voice of calm’ have received the highest honours at their school’s end-of-year prize-giving ceremony.

Martial arts expert Rebecca Boakes and exemplary student Thomas Pattison were awarded the coveted John Dennis Award at Northallerton School and Sixth Form College’s final Year 11 assembly.

Named after former chair of governors John Dennis, the award is presented to the Year 11 boy and girl, who by their attitude, commitment and honourable conduct, have contributed most to the character and reputation of the school.

Rebecca, 16, of Northallerton, trains with the England karate squad and will represent her country at the Wado Kai World Championships, in Japan, in August.

“It never even crossed my mind that I would be nominated for the John Dennis Award never mind win it,” she said.

“The fact that all of the tutors in school and all the students vote for the winner means so much and I feel extremely proud to be recognised.”

Thomas, 15, of Welbury, who received a rapturous round of applause on receiving his award, said: “This is a very big surprise – I can’t believe all my tutors kept it quiet from me.

“I didn’t even think I’d be in the running so I’m extremely shocked but very happy.”

Year 11 team manager Matthew Tucker added: “Tom is the voice of calm and reason within his peer group and Rebecca is always the go-to person to get anything done. They both represent the values that we want to instil in all our young people.”

Tom and Rebecca were among hundreds of Year 11students who were recognised for their academic achievements, consistent effort and contribution to school life at the annual prize-giving ceremony.

Certificates were handed out to students, nominated by their tutors for academic excellence and effort in 24 individual subjects ranging from maths and science to media and Spanish.

Associate principal Chris Byrne welcomed special guests Kevin Hardisty vice chair of governors, Sergeant Simon Wilson and Constable Judy Woodcock and addressed the Year 11 students.

“This is quite an historic assembly as it is the first year group to have taken their GCSEs as a new school,” he said.

Good behaviour certificates, effort awards, attendance certificates, house awards and tutor group awards were presented by Mr Byrne, Sgt Wilson and PC Woodcock with special awards, given to pupils who were nominated by their tutors in at least three different subjects for their effort and achievement handed out by Mr Hardisty.

Assistant principal and head of key stage four Lynda Phipps, who retires this year, said: “All of our students have been on an education journey from the age of four to 16 and have had a lot of help from tutors, friends, parents and people at home to get where they are today.”


Award winners


Subject awards:

Art: Elleanor Hoare, Ryan Holding

Business studies: Kate Stirling, Amy Clapham

Drama: Katie Adams, Fiona Cameron

Engineering: Joseph Foster, Callum Grayson

English: Mia Richmond, Charles Wheldon

English Literature: Cameron Ellenor, Danielle Taylor

French: Ryan Geach, Adam Harrison

Geography: James Mann, Eoghan Ross

German: Jodie Thopmson, Thomas Granville-Twig

Graphics: Robert Frame, Charlie Adams

Health & Social Care: Imogen Yates, Annabel Winterburn

History: Elizabeth Harland, Tristan Whiting

Hospitality and Catering: Rebecca Boakes, Chloe Iverson

ICT: Ross Powell, Jason Place

Maths: Mark Townend, Jenny Oliver

Media: Chloe Grocott, Libby Beswick

Music: Emily Turnbull, Jasmin Darbyshire

PE (Commitment to Sport): George Kirk, Benedict Bell

PE (GCSE): Rachel Chadfield, Emily Hobbs

RE: Katie Brown, Charlie Watson

Resistant Materials: Bethany Carrahar, Mark Porter

Science: Katie Platt, Wilhem Smith

Spanish: Sarah McDobbell, Courtney Stapley

Textiles: Louise Fowler, Kaitlin Taylor


Attendance Certificates (100 per cent attendance during Year 10 & 11)

Eddie Carver, Matthew Cowley, Matt Halligan, William Marriott, Emily Platt, Jordan Robinson, Jack Tart


House Awards

Sophie Best, Adam Pinder, Lewis Mather, Chloe Iveson


Tutor Group Awards:

Katie Adams, Olivia Dainton, Thomas Bruce, Samuel Humphrey, Rachel Chadfield, Charlotte Nelson, Charlotte McKinnon, Emily Hobbs, Martha Stephenson, Kyl Midgley


Special Awards:

Ross Coombes, Amy Donlon, Joshua Form, Ryan Geach, Sally Grey, Rebecca Grace Johnson, Charlotte Knowles, Charlotte McKinnon, Georgina Mackley, Elizabeth Mallett, Lewis Mather, Thomas Pattison, Matthew Place, Catherine Pringle, Stephanie Raine, Christopher Staves, Martha Stevenson, Catherine Townend




News in June