Athletes, players and performers are honoured at sports awards

Athletes, players and performers are honoured at sports awards

16th July 2014


ATHLETES, players and performers have been honoured at their academy's annual sports awards dinner celebrating a year of success and achievement.

Students who have excelled in a range of sports at Bede Academy, in Blyth, were presented with prizes and treated to dinner at school in the fifth celebration of its kind since the academy opened.

Director of sport Simon McAree told the students: "Our annual sports awards dinner is a night of celebration in which we look back on the many successes of the past year and reflect on the progress made in so many different sporting activities."

He said the individual and team successes were testimony to the hard work of students and staff.

The students also heard from special guest, Leeds Rhinos player Jamie Jones-Buchanan, who has won six Super League championships and has played for England 14 times.

Having grown up in a difficult neighbourhood in Leeds, the committed Christian said his memories of succeeding in sport as a boy helped inspire and carry him through challenges as a professional.

He told the students to be "whatever you can be" and never give up. "It's OK to aspire to be like other people but only you can be you. If you aren't who you are and try to be the best you can be, you will never fulfil your full potential," he said.

The special trophy of the evening, the Stannard Award, which is named after Lieutenant RB Stannard, from Blyth, who won the Victoria Cross for in the Second World War for courage and tenacity, was presented to student Scott Reynolds.

Academy principal Gwyneth Evans said: "Scott has devoted a significant amount of his own time to our Year 8 rugby team and is an enthusiastic member of a number of sports teams."

The other award winners were:
Basketballer of the year, Dalton Straughan;
Cricketer of the year, Jacob Glendinning;
Trampolining performer of the year, Sophie Robson, and most improved performer of the year, Ethan Sutcliffe;
Athletes of the year: Elliott Cook, Anya Christopher, Taylor Glover, Ellie Burt, Tom Bexton, Adam Wright and Jessica Wright;
Rounders players of the year: Taylor Hogg, Brooke McGowan, Chloe Elliott, Hollie Gillespie;
Fencer of the year: Matthew Butcher;
Tennis player of the year: Ben Patterson;
Rugby players of the year: Josh Green, Ryan Hull, Adrian Wray, Richard Harland, Martyn Quinn, Connor Herridge;
Most improved rugby payers: Harrison Scott, Cameron Williams, Callum Sanderson, Reece Swinney, Ben Blackett, James Golding;
Hockey players of the year: Olivia Armstrong, Georgina Woods, Lauren Vincent, Tyler McGowan, Amber Witson, Laura Winter;
Most improved hockey players: Ellie Gallon, Paige Wilkinson, Katy Finlayson, Nicole Southern, Caitlin Hall, Anna Smith;
Netball players of the year: Hannah Greener, Ellie Brooke Tweddle, Lexi Halliburton, Kate Arthur, Bethan Douglas, Lauren Scott;
Most improved netball players: Ellen Georgeson, Chloe Todd, Lauren Derbyshire, Ella Wood, Caitlin Hall.

News in July