Blyth academy celebrates its first year as a complete school

Blyth academy celebrates its first year as a complete school

23th July 2014


ONE of Britain's longest serving Lord Chancellors was the guest of honour as Bede Academy in Blyth celebrated its first year as a complete school.

The academy opened in 2009 with children up to Year 9 and has grown as each new year group has joined.

This year's Presentation Day was the first where it could confirm its status as an all-through acad-emy with children aged three-18, culminating in its first set of A level results this summer.

The historic moment was shared with legal reformer Lord Mackay of Clashfern, who retired as Lord Chancellor in 1997 and currently sits in the House of Lords as Commissary to the University of Cambridge.

He told the students to look forward positively, adding: "You have been furnished with extremely good preparation for the future in the shape of education which not only teaches you knowledge and a great deal in the variety of courses but is also education within a Christian framework, and I be-lieve that's an extremely valuable framework with which to face the future."

Presented by head boy Joseph Woods and head girl Ashleigh Charlton, the theme of the event was 'remembering the past, preparing for the future' and, in the centenary year of the outbreak of the First World War, included a look back at Blyth's contribution to the war effort.

The theme was reflected in entertainment which included wartime favourites and poignant songs sung by Bede South Choir, the Academy Choir and the Cantata Choir, music by the Academy Or-chestra and a vocal solo by Joanna Swainston of Tomorrow from the musical Annie.

The audience, which included many parents, heard about a year that saw Academy singers perform in Prom Praise at the Royal Albert Hall in London, and on BBC Live at Gateshead.

Students travelled took to Zambia, South Africa and on a tall ship, and got involved in community work collecting harvest food for the People's Kitchen, shoeboxes of gifts for children in Eastern Europe and supporting Dr Sasa's work in Burma.

More than 100 students collected Primary and Secondary Academy prizes for academic, community and extra curricular achievement, and for character.

Principal Gwyneth Evans announced the prize for Outstanding Academic Achievement, which went to 12-year-old Hannah Greener for achieving the highest average percentage in the annual exams for students in Years 7-10.

The Outstanding Student of the Year was Shannon Trigg, who admitted she started the academy as "a trouble maker" and was honoured to receive the prize.
I never thought I would complete my A levels or go to university," she added.
The prize winners were:

Primary Years Awards: Luke Purvis for French, Matthew Gibson for homework, Georgia Clarke for literacy, Reuben Cook for mathematics, Alice Holman for music, Austin Newman for best pro-gress.
Excellence Awards: Hannah Greener, Scarlett Carling, Tabitha Carling, Joanna Swainston, Geor-gina Woods, Matilda Robertson, Nicola Collins, Alexander Dodds, Courteney Dawson, Sally Dob-son, Neave Herridge, Claire Brown, Stephanie Cullum.
Endeavour Awards: Alex Paton, Daniel Bloxham, Nathan Ridley, Ryan Swan, Lois Trail, Georgia Gallon, Morgan Shuttleworth, Mawiyah Ahmed, Elissa Foster, Jake Charlton, Rhiannon Burt, Rhi-nannon Tweddle, Edward Stoker.
Improvement Awards: Katie Herron, Jake Scott, Charlotte Fox, Michael Hicks, Andrew Finnemore,  Callum Smith, Samuel Eaton, Daniel Moody, Christopher Swann, Courtney Rudd, Chloe Sawyer, Abbie Dickinson.
Spelling Awards: Taylor Green, Charlotte Fox, Andrew Chapman, Christopher Matthews.
Times Tables Grand Challenge: Zoe Watts.
Most promising students: Keir Stevenson, creative artist; Ashleigh Charlton, dramatist; Sophie Bell, engineer; Laura Rolt, entrepreneur; Danielle Lydon, food nutritionist; Courteney Dawson, geogra-pher; Aiesha Greer, historian; Thomas Brown, ICT; Matthew Hunter, individualised learner; Lewis Dunsmure, linguist; Tia Tilmouth, mathematician; Jack Beall, musician; Georgina Woods, PTE; Lewis Green, scientist; Brooke McGowan, sportsperson; Hannah Greener, thinker; Alexander Dodds, writer.
Merit Champions: Hollie Sharples, Ben Carling, Saskia Stones, Kirsty Routledge.
House Awards: Jack Simmons, Andrew Chapman, Thomas Marshall.
Special Awards: Will Courtney, Primary enterprise; Emily Foster, Primary engineering; Oliver At-kinson, technical intelligence; Shannon Hill, SONIK Award for extracurricular involvement; Mat-thew Butcher, contribution to the local community; Jack Herron, Young Musician of the Year; Connor Graham, short story; Liam Greenacre, Thomas Award for perseverance and grit; Louise McLean, best all-round achievement (primary); Anna Kernohan, outstanding contribution (pri-mary); Ryan Voyce, outstanding attendance (100 per cent over five years).
Primary Sports Award: Devyn Wilson;
Victor Ludorum: Cameron Holmes, Cameron Williams, Thomas Marshall, Ethan Sutcliffe, Michael Germany;
Victrix Ludorum: Megan Bird, Nikita Stones, Ellen Riley, Tyler McGowan, Eve Spirit;
Sportswoman of the Year: Tyler McGowan;
Sportsman of the Year: Richard Harland;
Sports Team of the Year: Year 9 and 10 Athletics.
Outstanding Academic Achievement: Hannah Greener
Outstanding Student of the Year: Shannon Trigg
House Cup: Oswald

News in July