Ceremony celebrates success and achievements of students

Ceremony celebrates success and achievements of students

24th July 2014


AN academy has marked its fight back with a prize giving ceremony that celebrated the success and achievements of its students.

With a theme of Resurrection, the event at Trinity Academy, in Thorne, opened with a poignant rendition of Abide With Me by Rebecca Leng and a contemporary dance performance about rise after fall.

Acting Principal David Page said: “Our ninth annual presentation afternoon gives us all a chance to stop and reflect on what this year has brought and to celebrate, learn from and be grateful for what we have.”

The prize giving marks the end of a year in which the academy was put into special measures by Ofsted, although it has enjoyed considerable success in the past.

Recently it has been recognised as moving forward and making the progress required to get out of special measures.

Hosted by incoming head boy Matthew Elwood and head girl Abbie Tomlinson, the whole school, families and guests were entertained by vocal, dance and drama performances.

Awards were presented by executive principal Chris Drew for excellence, endeavour and improvement, to merit champions, for citizenship and vocational work placements.

Awards for the most promising students in each subject area, sportsmen and women, house awards, the house cup and a series of special prizes were also presented.

Among the winners was Jake Amesbury, who was awarded the Student Courage Award for donating bone marrow and supporting his brother through cancer.

The Outstanding Student of the Year accolade went to sixth former Laura Day who was described as “an excellent ambassador” for the academy who demonstrates the core values, gives her time to others and is “polite, conscientious and humble”.

Laura, 18, of Thorne, who has taken A levels in chemistry, mathematics and economics and has a place to read chemistry at Bristol University, said: “I didn’t expect it at all and am really overwhelmed and very grateful.”

Some of the loudest cheers of the afternoon were saved for guest speaker and former principal Ian Brew, who led the academy from its opening until retiring earlier this year.

He told the students: “Being here for this prize giving reminds me how wonderful this school is. We all face challenges in life and Trinity Academy is a place that will help you. You have amazing gifts, abilities and values, and teachers, families and friends who want you to succeed.

“Trinity has faced difficulties and disappointments but this has been and will be a great school.”

The prize winners:

For excellence: Olivia Jenkins, Finlay McRoy, Lydia Pike, Laura Collier Phillipson, Lay Green, Jasmine Wood, Jack Parkinson, Gemma Powell, Bartosz Swedziol, Katie Allott, Yasmin Mosby, Luke Pike;
For endeavour: Halle Jackson Key, Isabel Warren, Alix Young, Amy Barker, Samuel Oxspring, Megan Williamson, Rebecca Harvey, Willow Holmes, Francesca Middleton, Taylor Cairns, Samantha Smith, Connor Stennett;
For improvement: Ellie Griffiths, Macauley Mangham, Phoebe Street, Alex Linley, Oliver Mearns, Sommer Oliver, Ellie Aldsworth, Luke Cook, Phoebe Leech, Shannon Felton, Chloe Furness, Ellie Rafferty;

Merit Champions: Jessica Elsey, Megan Bailey, Phillip Gwynn, Matthew Duyan;
Citizenship Awards: Latisha Hartley, Rebecca Jackson, Bartosz Swedziol, Clarissa Smith;
Vocational work placement awards: Robyn Cuttell, Kurt Skinner, Arron Westacott;

Most promising creative artist: Natasha Clarke;
Most promising entrepreneur: Kyle Sables;
Most promising food technologist: Laura Collier Phillipson;
Most promising geographer: Katie Clarke;
Most promising historian: Ruvarashe Fungwe;
Most promising linguist: Gemma Powell;
Most promising mathematician: Jay Green;
Most promising scientist: Kyle Walker;
Most promising sportsperson: Luke Pike;
Most promising technologist: Natalie Clarkson;
Most promising thinker: Katie Allott;
Most promising writer: Lydia Pike;

Sports awards:
Victrix Ludorum: Alix Young, Ellie Cockburn, Holly Dennis, Ellie Bailey, Yasmin Mosby;
Victor Ludorum: Thomas Graves, Daniel Cairns, Jordan Courtney, Louis Jones;
Sportswoman of the Year: Ellie Aldsworth;
Sportsman of the Year: Thomas Graves;

Special prizes:
Special lecture award: Olivia Jenkins;
Academy drama bowl: Dale Hornsby;
Chairman’s Award for Musician of the Year: Joshua Chappel;
Alumni Award, Contribution to the Academy and Local Community: Joshua Bull;
Megan Hennessey prize for art: Jennifer Teasdale;
Student Courage Award: Jake Amesbury;
House Awards: King of the Year, Leon Chen; Poet of the year, Holly Dennis; Shepherd of the Year, Sommer Oliver;
The King’s Academy Short Story of the Year Award: Jay Green;
Outstanding Student of the Year: Laura Day;
The House Cup: Shepherds.

News in July