Celebrating sporting stars

Celebrating sporting stars

20th October 2017


PLAYERS and performers on the pitch, court and track have been recognised for their contribution to the sporting life of a South Yorkshire academy.

Trinity Academy, in Thorne, held its annual presentation evening to celebrate the achievements of its sporting stars.

Head of PE Katie O’Brien said: “Our Sports Awards Evening is when we celebrate our victories, reflect on our defeats and consider all the experiences we have gained.

“Our students continue to be great ambassadors and we as staff are proud to have them represent the academy. Their commitment, enthusiasm and sheer determination never cease to amaze us.”

Miss O’Brien said all the students invited to the presentation had made a contribution to the various squads fielded by the academy throughout the last academic year.

She added: “I would like to thank everyone for their contribution whether it be as a member of staff putting in relentless hours and sharing your expertise, parents who serve as the biggest support act and, of course, the students themselves who make our job as PE teachers even more rewarding.”

Awards were handed out to the players of the year, nominated by staff and students, in netball, rugby, hockey, rounders, athletics, football and cricket, and trophies were presented to the overall top performer in each sport.

The Year 8 netball team was recognised as team of the year, along with Thomas Easen, the first winner of a new award for outstanding contribution.

The prestigious Barry Marks Award went to Abigail Ball for embodying the core values of the academy, playing in every team available to her and for coaching and umpiring even when she was injured.

Dave Potts, director of key stage four, paid tribute to ex-Trinity students Matthew Taylor and Richard Barrass, members of Goole Rugby Club who won the RFU Junior Vase in their first national final at Twickenham in May; Owen Taylor who is now refereeing at national level; and current students David Moores, who played rugby for Yorkshire last year, and Thomas Easen, of Doncaster Rovers.

Athletes Alix Young, Archie Taylor and Kane Manners were also recognised for their performances at the Doncaster Schools Athletics Championships.


The prize-winners:

Barry Marks Award – Abigail Ball;

Outstanding Contribution – Thomas Easen;

Team of the Year –Year 8 Netball;


Players’ Players – Jaymie Walsh, Ben Potts, Eric Lopes, Matthew Poulston;

Trinity Players of the Year – Luke Poulston, Tyler Wainwright, Luke Hagyard, Reid Pugh;

Overall Rugby Player of the Year – David Moores.


Players’ Players – Sharaya Hornsby, Hannah Sanderson, Heather Phillipson, Lydia Pike;

Trinity Players of the Year – Maja Swedziol, Chloe Taylor, Holly Clarke, Olivia Jenkins;

Overall Hockey Player of the Year – Abigail Ball.


Players’ Players – Eve Guest, Libby Hallam, Hannah Sanderson, Olivia Graham, Ella Rafferty;

Trinity Players of the Year – Natasha Mountain, Chloe Taylor, Amy Butler, Alix Young;

Overall Rounders Player of the Year – Eve Graham.


Players’ Players – Eve Graham, Jodie Hannam, Libby Aldersea, Bronwyn Edwards;

Trinity Players of the Year – Maja Swedziol, Alex O’Neill, Chloe Feirn, Olivia Jenkins;

Overall Netball Player of the Year – Amy Wilcox.

Athletes of the Year:

Kian Blandford, Ella Grain, Daniel Bailey, Beth Griffiths, Archie Taylor, Maia Wilkinson, Kane Manners, Alix Young;

Overall Athlete of the Year – Ajay Scott.


Players’ Player – Tyler Wainwright;

Trinity Player of the Year – Ethan Stringer;

Overall Cricketer of the Year – Jamie Johnson.


Players’ Players – Kian Blandford, Tommy Smith, William Weir, Oliver Beaglehole;

Trinity Players of the Year – Jaymie Walsh, Harry Linley, William Camplejohn, Cameron Day;

Overall Footballer of the Year – Thomas Easen.

News in October